aftermath

As you can well imagine, there has been a McFlurry of delicious mail in my inbox, 99.9% of which I have not yet answered. I have been busier than ever, moving into my new place and trying to get my frozen little Midwestern ducks in a row.

I thought I would have a lot of time to answer mail once I was an unemployed, out-of-work, fired person, but this turns out not to have been the case. And also, very disappointingly, I have not yet ingested a single bon bon. What the hell? I have three weeks to live a Life of Leisure and no bon bons have been involved as of yet. I am clearly a failure.

(And now it looks like I have a freelance proofing job next week and part of the week after that. Which is great, because I am ASS BROKE and apparently laptops cost more than one dollar, which was my laptop budget before I got this job. But it means I will be busy next week too. So much for the Life of Leisure.)

[Please note that this was written a week ago. In the meantime, I have acquired a laptop and spent a week freelancing. That's what I get for procrastination.]

Speaking of which, it's been quite an upheaval, emotionally. Being fired sucks, and of course I knew intellectually that it is a thing that sucks, but I wasn't expecting it to suck in quite this fashion. My confidence in myself was shaken in very weird ways, and I have been experiencing some sort of generalized anxiety, in spite of my efforts to look on the positive side of all of this. I can only imagine how I'd be feeling if I hadn't been offered what was behind door number two. I can imagine it would not be at all pretty. (Maybe it would have involved BON BONS, though.)

So yeah, okay, what was I saying? Broke, fired, sucks, email unanswered, hello.

I am working, by the way, on a solution to the web presence thing. I definitely do think it will be an immensely interesting thing to write about. And of course I will not be writing about my students, or colleagues, or anything of that nature. But the transition from lifelong California girl to living in the Midwest? Dealing with a long-distance engagement? Adjusting to being a teacher? These are all huge, interesting things, and I will be writing about them somehow, somewhere. I will let you know how to find me when the time comes.

Oh, and of course my father has written to me about all of this:

Hi honey ,this e-mail is from Mom and me,we are very happy for you that you were given the oppertunity to go for your dream.Sometimes things happen for a reason,God wanted you to make that mistake so He can you lead in a different direction, and believe uss you are not a loser. He even lead you to a new state to live .We are very happy that youwill have the change to teach and that you have a friend there already that is very good. Sogive us a call before you depart please. Hear from you soon Love Mom and Dad.


And finally, on a final note, I have moved my journal to a different locale...I am already writing a lot more now, and more freely, so there you are.

I just need the distance from mo pie dot com, as well as the privacy, for the next little while... Anyway if you'd like access... write me at piegirl at gmail.com!





you should also know about

molibs
reading list
the adventure list page
wish list.

Older:
aftermath - 2005-08-12
what you wish for - 2005-07-26
packing - 2005-07-11
i think i cancun - 2005-07-05
4 the of july - 2005-07-04

hosted by DiaryLand.com