4 the of july

My father sent me an e-mail recently wishing me a "happy 4 the of July." Hence the title. My dad rules.

I've spent the day packing, sort of. I only had like five boxes, and once I filled them with my VHS tapes and most of my DVDs, the packing was done; or at least, I was out of boxes.

Now I am drinking wine, on the principle that if I drink it, I won't have to move it! And what better to do while you're drinking and packing than watching movies and writing journal entries? (Well one journal entry. Two movies, though: Bend it Like Beckham and Sideways.) (I feel like there was really something wrong with my grammar there, but I think my glass of wine was too big because I don't know how to fix it.)

As you possibly have gathered, we found a place to live this weekend! Found a place, signed a lease, and then realized we have way too much shit to move into a one-bedroom housepartment.

The place is great though. Two artists lived there before, and they painted the walls awesome colors, like turquoise and stuff. I love it; Ian said "maybe this will get it out of your system." Ha! No. Never!

Huge kitchen. Great neighborhood. Lots of charm. Fabulous landlords living upstairs. I can't wait to host the next book group meeting! We can actually host now! Exclamation point!

We move at the end of the month. I looked at my calendar and realized that if I am going to have a garage sale, it might have to happen next weekend. So today, I filled a corner of the garage up with stuff to sell/get rid of. I still have Way Too Much Stuff, but it's a start.

This weekend, Weetabix was in town. We had lots of fun and fabulousness and sushi and Moscow Mules at La Wade's, and karaoke, and this late-night trip to a diner with this guy I barely know, who kept saying surreal things like "LET'S DRAW A LINE RIGHT NOW."

And neither Weet nor I had any idea what the hell he was talking about, but somehow it ended up being just the three of us so we had to do our best to play along.

We took him to a diner and tried to feed him, and he spilled two glasses of water and two cups of coffee and said very many serious and important things that we did not understand at all. It was hilarious.

I also went to Cancun recently, which of course has generated a half-written entry that I will eventually post. Read the fabulous Patrick's journal for a sneak preview of the details, and a lovely shot of my ass. (I said I wanted to look like a badass in my rappelling photo, and I think everything but "ass" was somehow lost in translation.)

Still, I forgive Patrick. Can you believe I've never met Patrick before? Love. Loved everyone in Cancun. I had such a fantastic time. And look at this hottie. I get to move in with him, you know!





you should also know about

molibs
reading list
the adventure list page
wish list.

Older:
aftermath - 2005-08-12
what you wish for - 2005-07-26
packing - 2005-07-11
i think i cancun - 2005-07-05
4 the of july - 2005-07-04

hosted by DiaryLand.com